Parenting- Why Don’t twin babies notice each other?

My daughter and co- author Kali Cress Peterson had twins April 26. When we wrote Mom Loves You Best, Forgiving and Forging Sibling Relationships we had no idea twins were on the way. So the October 2010 book about sibling forgiveness had no chapter on parenting twin siblings. Now- my love as a grandmother has spurred me to do some research in twins. I want to know how you raise twin siblings without future I hate you stories.

Part of my research has been hands on. I am again temporarily down to LA, where my daughter lives, to help care for the twins and watch them celebrate their first Halloween So everyday and night, through the endless diapers, bottles and now helping Kali’s nanny to care for these boys (Dylan and Liam) I have been able to observe twins. Kali is back at work at the SCAN Foundation in LA, as the fellow gerontologist she is- besides my daughter.

I do have a question that I would love the answer to. I have googled this with no success. Why don’t twin siblings notice each other? Dylan and Liam seem to like to chew on each others arms because they are teething but really don’t interact in any other way. I have thought maybe they just think that is themselves- their other yet the same. I don’t have the answer here so if you do, let me know.

For now we just love them as our first twin siblings- who at this point are our joy. Help me out with a comment if you can

About momlovesyoubest

Cathy Cress holds an MSW in Aging from U.C. Berkeley. Her new book Mom Loves You Best, Forgiving and Forging Sibling Relationships , New Horizon Press, was published October 2010. Cress’s book , Handbook of Geriatric Care Management, Jones and Bartlett, is the bible of geriatric care management and is out out in a third edition in February 2011 .Her book Care Managers, Working With the Aging Family, Jones and Bartlett,2008 is one of the few major books on the aging family. Ms. Cress is the founder of GCM Consult ,working with small and national who want to add or launch GCM businesses. She is on the faculty at the University of Florida in their on line master’s in geriatric care management -GCM . She has taught geriatric care management at San Francisco State University , UC Berkeley and teaches at Cabrillo College and San Mateo College. She was founder and director of Cresscare, a GCM business, for 25 years.
This entry was posted in twins and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

